Wednesday, January 20, 2010

How to resolve Sync Conflict when I delete a File from www.Photoshop.com.?



Resolve conflicts in Photoshop Elements due to deletion of your Files in www.photoshop.com

***Here I assume that you are ware of Conflicts in Backup/Sync on Elements and when they occcur. If not check out... My Previous Post...

1. Click the Elements Organizer Backup/Sync Warning icon in the status bar of Elements Organizer and select ‘View and Resolve Conflicts’.

2. To resolve conflicts due to deletions, click ‘Deletions’ tab in the Backup/Sync Resolution dialog. You see a message requesting confirmation and the following:

          A. The Delete List with a list of deleted files that need resolving.
                                Note: The first deletion, Delete1 is selected by default.
          B. Thumbnails of the photo with captions ‘Do Not Delete’ and ‘Delete’ to facilitate resolving Delete 1.

Resolve conflicts in Photoshop Elements due to deletion of your Files in www.photoshop.com***Here I assume that you are ware of Conflicts in Backup/Sync on Elements and when they occcur. If not check out... My Previous Post...1. Click the Elements Organizer Backup/Sync Warning icon in the status bar of Elements Organizer and select ‘View and Resolve Conflicts’.2. To resolve conflicts due to deletions, click ‘Deletions’ tab in the Backup/Sync Resolution dialog. You see a message requesting confirmation and the following:A. The Delete List with a list of deleted files that need resolving.Note: The first deletion, Delete1 is selected by default.          B. Thumbnails of the photo with captions ‘Do Not Delete’ and ‘Delete’ to facilitate resolving Delete 1.

3. Select the thumbnail of the photo below ‘Do not delete’ if you want to retain the photo. Or select the photo (with a cross mark) below ‘Delete’ to delete the photo. Do one of the following:

A. You have multiple conflicts due to deletions in a batch, and want to resolve all conflicts by retaining the photos instead of deleting: Select ‘Use these settings for all remaining deletions in the batch’. Selecting this option ensures that all the deletions are resolved by retaining the photos and not deleting them. Click ‘Apply Changes and Quit’.

B. You have multiple deletions in a batch and want to resolve each conflict due to deletion individually: Choose the action to be taken for a particular conflict. Click ‘Apply Changes and Quit’. One of the conflicts due to deletion is resolved. To resolve the next conflict, open the Backup/Sync Resolution dialog and follow steps 2 & 3 mentioned above.

Note:

1. When you choose deletion to happen, there is another checkbox to facilitate the deletion from Hard-Disk.

In case you want to delete the file from Hard-Disk also, check “Also delete from Hard disk”.

2. If you choose not to delete the file from catalog, file will be moved out of album(s). That effectively means that files will be there in catalog without any Album association.

3. In case you want to retain a file in catalog which was not associated with any album, it will be uploaded again to www.photoshop.com.

How can we resolve Sync Conflicts encountered through File change in PSE as well as www.photoshop.com?


Resolve conflicts due to changes in the media files

Here are few steps you need to follow for resolving Conflicts:

1. Click the Backup/Sync Warning icon in the status bar of Elements Organizer and select ‘View and Resolve Conflicts’.

2. To resolve conflicts due to the changes made in a photo, click ‘Conflicts’ tab in the Backup/Sync Resolution dialog. You see a message requesting confirmation and the following:

           A. The Conflict List with a list of conflicted files that need to be resolved.
                               Note: The first conflict, Conflict 1 is selected by default.
           B. The thumbnails of the online version of the photo and the version of the photo on your computer to facilitate resolving Conflict 1.

Resolve conflicts due to changes in the media files.Here are few steps you need to follow for resolving Conflicts:1. Click the Backup/Sync Warning icon in the status bar of Elements Organizer and select ‘View and Resolve Conflicts’.2. To resolve conflicts due to the changes made in a photo, click ‘Conflicts’ tab in the Backup/Sync Resolution dialog. You see a message requesting confirmation and the following:A. The Conflict List with a list of conflicted files that need to be resolved.Note: The first conflict, Conflict 1 is selected by default.B. The thumbnails of the online version of the photo and the version of the photo on your computer to facilitate resolving Conflict 1.


3. Select the thumbnail of the photo you want to retain (for example, the photo on your computer) and do one of the following:

If you have multiple conflicts in this batch and want to resolve all conflicts by retaining the photos on your computer instead of the online versions. Select 'Use these settings for all remaining conflicts in the batch'. Selecting this option ensures that all the conflicts are resolved by retaining the changed photos on your computer and ignoring the online versions. Click ‘Apply Changes and Quit’.

If you have multiple conflicts in this batch and want to resolve each conflict individually. Click ‘Apply Changes and Quit’. One of the conflicts is resolved. To resolve the next conflict, open the Backup/Sync Resolution dialog and follow steps 2 and 3. The Conflicts Resolution dialog box for conflicts due to media changes is shown below.

Tuesday, January 19, 2010

Have you ever encountered Conflicts in Backup/Sync of Adobe Photoshop Elements



Conflicts can arise due to the following reasons:

A. Conflicts generated through editing in Elements as well as www.photoshop.com:

1. Edit/Edit Conflicts:

Arise when the same file is edited on the Photoshop.com account as well as on the desktop at the same time and then sync is done.

2. Edit/Delete Conflicts:

Arise when the file is edited on the Photoshop.com account and same file is deleted from the desktop followed by sync.

3. Delete/Edit Conflicts:

Arise when the file is deleted from the Photoshop.com account and the same file is edited on the desktop and sync is allowed to complete.

B. Conflicts generated through file deletions on www.photoshop.com:

These conflicts arise when a media file is deleted from the Photoshop.com account but not deleted from the desktop.

This conflict arises only when the option: ‘When I Delete a fileOnline, ask before Deleting it from my Computer’ has been selected in the advanced backup/sync options.


Elements Organizer facilitates manual resolution of conflicts that arise during synchronization. I will share more on Conflict Resolution part in next Post....




Search This Blog