Showing posts with label Organizer. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Organizer. Show all posts

Wednesday, June 6, 2012

Not able to launch Organizer after installing Adobe Photoshop Elements


Welcome to this this blog on Adobe Photoshop Elements and following article can be helpful to you, if you are not able to launch Organizer after installation of Adobe Photoshop Elements on your computer. This can be helpful, so try steps mentioned below - 

(Below mentioned steps are for version 9 of Adobe Photoshop Elements, but can be tried for other versions by replacing version number in paths mentioned below)

Win:
1. Navigate to location 'C:\Users\<user_name>\AppData\Roaming\Adobe\Elements Organizer\9.0 and delete/rename the 9.0 folder.
2: Go to 'C:\ProgramData\Adobe\Elements Organizer\Catalogs‘ folder and rename the Catalogs folder.
3: Launch EO. It will throw ‘No catalog found’ error. Create a new catalog and click on ‘OK’. Now EO launches with first launch scenario.

MAC:
1: Go to /users/labuser/library/application support/adobe/elements organizer and rename or delete ’9.0’ folder.
2. Rename or delete the ‘catalog’ folder.
3: Launch EO.

Tuesday, June 5, 2012

Is Adobe Photoshop Elements crashing on launch/Start-up || Organizer is crashing on launch/start-up || Editor is crashing on launch/start-up


For Crash problem for Organizer :
A. Launch the catalog manager dialog box before launching organizer.
For this follow the steps-
1. Click on 'Adobe Photoshop Elements 10.0' icon on desktop.
2. Hold the 'shift' key from your keyboard and click on 'organizer' tab in welcome screen.
3. Catalog manager dialog box will be launched. Create a new catalog. Probably Organizer will be launched.
4. If so, click 'catalog' under 'file menu' Select your catalog (with which organizer was crashing) and click on 'repair' button. Click on 're index visual similarity data' and click on 'ok' button. After this click on 'optimize' button.
5. Select the catalog and click on 'open' button.

B. If crash continues then you have to create a new catalog.
For Crash problem for Editor: 
 Delete Preferences: Try to launch Editor and keep pressing - ‘Ctrl+Alt+Shift’. It will show an option to delete preferences and then try to relaunch again.

Monday, May 14, 2012

Why do I get black Slides in my Slideshow created in Adobe Photoshop Elements?

Do you see black slides in your WMV or Slideshow created through Organizer application of Adobe Photoshop Elements? If yes, this article may help you. This is one of the common problem discussed on Adobe Forums of Elements-Village. Let's check out how can we avoid or fix it.

 This usually happens when you are using high resolution photographs for creating Slideshows and using very large number of photographs. Low memory or processing power of your computer can also be one of the reasons. And here if you try to export WMV in smaller size, you may not see black slides. Link mentioned below talks more about it...

For more detailed information, check out - http://forums.adobe.com/thread/514323

Friday, May 11, 2012

How to Create Shortcuts of Organizer & Editor of Adobe Photoshop Elements on Desktop

During installation process of Adobe Photoshop Elements, we can create shortcut on Desktop. This Shortcut launches Welcome Screen of Adobe Photoshop Elements and further we need to choose if we want to launch Organizer or Editor. Many folks create desktop shortcuts for Organizer & Editor, so that Welcome screen can be bypassed to directly launch relevant application.

Saturday, April 30, 2011

Now I feel a need for Catalog for Catalogs

Its been more than 5 years now that I have been using various versions of Adobe Photoshop Elements and all my photographs used to be in one catalog. Over the time, I found it difficult to organize thousands of photographs in one catalog as  number of Albums and Tags was increasing every week.. Huge size of catalog with Thousnads of photographs and hundreds of albums/tags... For last one year, I have been organizing each shoot in separate catalog which means 250-2000 photographs per shoot ! Now I have lot many catalogs but it becomes difficult when I need some specific kinds of photographs irrespective of the event or photo-shoot.
So, here is my wishlist as a continuous user of Adobe Photoshop Elements Organizer !!!

Wish-list :

- There should be a catalog for catalogs
- In that master catalog, it should be very convenient to see low-res thumbs of photographs in various catalogs spread over various drives/folders on the hard-drive.
- It should be easy to merge two catalogs with all the existing Albums, Tags, Star Rating etc.
- It should easy to access photographs for other catalog on the basis of various metadata things like star rating, Albums and Tags etc..

Tuesday, March 8, 2011

Organizer is very sluggish or slow in Adobe Photoshop Elements


Hi Friends,

As you know that Organizer provide very rich functionalities for organizing our photographs, videos and audio files. Since it keeps record of huge metadata and operations over the years, there can be a possibility of some performance degradation which can be handled/avoided many ways...

I always recommend Catalog Repair time to time, which will avoid any technical anomalies in your catalog. If you have been using single catalog for a long time and upgraded from various versions of Photoshop elements, I would recommend to create one another and make it a habit to have different catalogs for various events you hoot... Its completely my personal opinion for better management.. I create one catalog in an year and since I shoot lot of raw photographs, sometimes I need to create many catalogs depending upon the need...

If you are currently seeing some performance hit then of course you need some corrective action rater than preventive activities which we discussed above... Here are few thing which may help you :

Organizer preferences delete:

We would suggest you to follow the steps mentioned below:

1.       Exit Elements Organizer and Photoshop Elements Editor.
2.       Browse to the location ->  C:\Users\\AppData\Roaming\Adobe\Elements Organizer\9.0\Organizer and delete the files “Status.dat” and “psa.prf”.
3.       Re- launch Elements Organizer.

Further, Please follow the steps mentioned below:

Auto Analyzer Turn OFF

a)       Launch Elements Organizer
b)      Go to Edit > Preferences
c)       Click Auto Analyzer Options. De-select “Analyze all media in Catalog Automatically” and “Recognize People Automatically” options.


I know many people have done many experiments around this topic and would want to know about those... So I will keep updating this post regularly. Please comment back in case some other method better worked for you !!!

Saturday, March 5, 2011

Adobe Photoshop Elements with Windows Live Mail 2011 - How to make it work ?


If you use Windows Live Mail as default email client in Adobe Photoshop Elements, then you must be knowing that WLM 11 is not compatible with Adobe Photoshop Elements 9.0. To work with emails and photomails, you need to follow below mentioned steps :

a) Uninstall Windows Live Mail 2011 : Go to Control Panel and uninstall Windows Live Essentials 2011
b) Install the previous version of Windows Live Mail from : http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/en/details.aspx?FamilyID=56883de5-2024-4631-806e-757693072a1c
c) After the successful installation of the Windows Live Mail, configure your Windows Live Mail. This will make sure that there are no issues with the Windows Live Mail.
d) Launch Elements Organizer , Go to Preferences > Sharing. Change Email client to Windows Live Mail and Click Ok.

Tuesday, September 21, 2010

PHOTOSHOP ELEMENTS 9 is out in market by ADOBE

Wohoooo....

Here is next release of PHOTOSHOP ELEMENTS by ADOBE.... and its 9th version now which is available on Windows as well as MAC with amazing organizing capabilities of ORGANIZER which was available on windows with earlier releases... I am very excited and this post may be confusing due to the same.. So forgive me for that and I am going to share some cool and new features of Adobe Photoshop Elements soon... So keep tracking this place for new and exciting stuff in Adobe Photoshop Elements 9.0 ....

As of now, lets have a look at new things in Adobe Photoshop Elements 9.0 :

1. ORAGNIZER on MAC (That effectively means all Photoshop.com services on MAC also...)

2. PHOTO Style Merge... which is one of the amazing feature to copy brilliant styles on one photograph to another... For person like me who have many good photographer friends, its very useful... I will use their photographs to nourish mine pics...

3. FUN EDITS.... especially OUT OF BOUNDS and PERFECT PORTRAITS... OUT OF BOUNDS helps creating amazing 3D-effects which looks like object is comsing out of the 2D plane and much more with some guided steps... PERFECT PORTRAITS are self-explanatory and its again in Guided Edit mode of Photoshop Elements 9.0

4. Amazing tool called "CONTENT AWARE FILL" which is simplified version of PHOTOSHOP CS5 and helps auto-completing a photograph when something is erased... try it out and its great...

5. iPHOTO integration in ORGANIZER ... Any user who wants to shift from iPHOTO :-)

6. Some significant improvements in Photo-Book workflows along with other creative things out there...

7. Face Recognition is awesome this time... will share detailed post sometime in near future...

Check out following link of Adobe Photoshop Elements 9.0 on Amazon.com:

http://www.amazon.com/Adobe-Photoshop-Elements-Win-Mac/dp/B003YGMEAQ/ref=amb_link_353828142_4?pf_rd_m=ATVPDKIKX0DER&pf_rd_s=top-1&pf_rd_r=1MQETBCH26WT1YW6AYYQ&pf_rd_t=301&pf_rd_p=1273359502&pf_rd_i=photoshop%20elements

Few more links:

http://www.businesswire.com/news/home/20100920007234/en

Wednesday, August 11, 2010

How do you see the photos that were Backed-up/Synchronized Automatically?


Today I checked a generic topic on Adobe forums where a User want to know how many files are synchronized form my catalog to Photoshop.com. In past we have discussed many things about Backup/Sync of Photoshop Elements but never thought of this basic requorement. Let me throw some light on alternatives to check which are files are synchronized, pending etc.

 
In Elements Organizer, there is an icon in status dialog which is known as Sync-Meter. Please see above figure to know about  Sync-Meter. When we click on Sync Meter in status dialog, a fly-out menu comes up with various options. Top section of this fly-out menu has three Options:


1. View Backed Up/Synchronized files
2. View not Backed up/Synchronized files
3. View files pending Backup/Synchronization


These three options apply some search in your catalog and show corresponding results in imagewell. So if we click "View Backed Up/Synchronized files", all backed-Up/Synced files will be shown in Organizer.

 

If we search for "View files pending Backup/Synchronization" all files which are pending will be shown with an icon with each file. Please see second figure.

 
Apart from knowing the status at file level, there is another way to know which album is pending for Sync. Third figure shows some icons in front of albums. This icon indicates that album has at least one file pending for Backup/Sync.

Please share your feedback about this post and let us know in case you have more queries regarding this behavior. 

Friday, July 9, 2010

Creating new Catalog in Adobe Photoshop Elements - Organizer

I am sure you know about CATALOGS in Adobe Photoshop Elements, if not check out following link and proceed further...


Its pretty easy to create a new catalog in Organizer:

1. Just go to File Menu

2. Select Catalogs

3. Following dialog will be shown, Click New button on right top.

There are following three options in Catalog Management Dialog. These options decide where your catalog is going to create:1.  Catalogs Accessible by All Users If this particular option is selected, catalog will be created @ADOBE PHOTOSHOP ELEMENTS 7.0.0WIN_XP: C::Documents and Settings:All Users:Application Data:Adobe:Photoshop Elements:CatalogsWIN_7 : C::ProgramData:Adobe:Photoshop Elements:CatalogsADOBE PHOTOSHOP ELEMENTS 8.0.0WIN_XP: C::Documents and Settings:USER_NAME:Application Data:Adobe:Elements Organizer:CatalogsWIN_7 : C::ProgramData:Adobe:Elements Organizer:Catalogs2.  Catalogs Accessible by the Current User If this particular option is selected, catalog will be created @ADOBE PHOTOSHOP ELEMENTS 7.0.0WIN_XP: C::Documents and Settings:USER_NAME:Application Data:Adobe:Photoshop Elements:CatalogsWIN_7 : C::Users:USER_NAME:AppData:Roaming:Adobe:Photoshop Elements:CatalogsADOBE PHOTOSHOP ELEMENTS 8.0.0WIN_XP: C::Documents and Settings:USER_NAME:Application Data:Adobe:Elements Organizer:CatalogsWIN_7 : C::Users:USER_NAME:AppData:Roaming:Adobe:Elements Organizer:Catalogs3.  Custom Location Here you have an option to select appropriate location. Click on BROWSE button in front of this option and select the location where you want to create new catalog.

4. Following dialog will be shown, enter the name and click OK.

There are following three options in Catalog Management Dialog. These options decide where your catalog is going to create:1.  Catalogs Accessible by All Users If this particular option is selected, catalog will be created @ADOBE PHOTOSHOP ELEMENTS 7.0.0WIN_XP: C::Documents and Settings:All Users:Application Data:Adobe:Photoshop Elements:CatalogsWIN_7 : C::ProgramData:Adobe:Photoshop Elements:CatalogsADOBE PHOTOSHOP ELEMENTS 8.0.0WIN_XP: C::Documents and Settings:USER_NAME:Application Data:Adobe:Elements Organizer:CatalogsWIN_7 : C::ProgramData:Adobe:Elements Organizer:Catalogs2.  Catalogs Accessible by the Current User If this particular option is selected, catalog will be created @ADOBE PHOTOSHOP ELEMENTS 7.0.0WIN_XP: C::Documents and Settings:USER_NAME:Application Data:Adobe:Photoshop Elements:CatalogsWIN_7 : C::Users:USER_NAME:AppData:Roaming:Adobe:Photoshop Elements:CatalogsADOBE PHOTOSHOP ELEMENTS 8.0.0WIN_XP: C::Documents and Settings:USER_NAME:Application Data:Adobe:Elements Organizer:CatalogsWIN_7 : C::Users:USER_NAME:AppData:Roaming:Adobe:Elements Organizer:Catalogs3.  Custom Location Here you have an option to select appropriate location. Click on BROWSE button in front of this option and select the location where you want to create new catalog.


5. Welcome to new Catalog.

NOTE:

There are following three options in Catalog Management Dialog. These options decide where your catalog is going to create:

1. "Catalogs Accessible by All Users"

If this particular option is selected, catalog will be created @

ADOBE PHOTOSHOP ELEMENTS 7.0.0
WIN_XP: C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\Adobe\Photoshop Elements\Catalogs
WIN_7 : C:\ProgramData\Adobe\Photoshop Elements\Catalogs

ADOBE PHOTOSHOP ELEMENTS 8.0.0
WIN_XP: C:\Documents and Settings\USER_NAME\Application Data\Adobe\Elements Organizer\Catalogs
WIN_7 : C:\ProgramData\Adobe\Elements Organizer\Catalogs


2. "Catalogs Accessible by the Current User"

If this particular option is selected, catalog will be created @

ADOBE PHOTOSHOP ELEMENTS 7.0.0
WIN_XP: C:\Documents and Settings\USER_NAME\Application Data\Adobe\Photoshop Elements\Catalogs
WIN_7 : C:\Users\USER_NAME\AppData\Roaming\Adobe\Photoshop Elements\Catalogs

ADOBE PHOTOSHOP ELEMENTS 8.0.0
WIN_XP: C:\Documents and Settings\USER_NAME\Application Data\Adobe\Elements Organizer\Catalogs
WIN_7 : C:\Users\USER_NAME\AppData\Roaming\Adobe\Elements Organizer\Catalogs


3. "Custom Location"

Here you have an option to select appropriate location. Click on BROWSE button in front of this option and select the location where you want to create new catalog.

Tuesday, June 22, 2010

How to play a set of photographs in particular order where Photoshop Elements in not installed

Recently I checked a user problem, who had shot some photographs for his client. He edited all photographs, added to an album, exported and started playing those files on clients machine where Adobe Photoshop elements was not installed. We we started showing the files, order was not the same as he had arranged in his Organizer.

Is there any solution to this problem?

Actually order of sepcific files is dependent on the application where we play the files. So in this case we need to play the files in Windows Picture and Fax Viewer. This application show files as per the order they are shown in folder (Windows files system). Since there is no direct way of reordering files in windows explorer, we need to do something here... Lets see how this can be achieved through a workaround with Adobe Photoshop Elements - Organizer.

Follow below mentioned steps to achieve this:

1. Add all files to an Album
2. Select this album and reorder its files as per your choice
3. When files are in proper order, select all
4. File Menu > Rename
5. Give some relevant name
6. export these files to a folder
7. Copy this folder to the machine where you want to play the files one by one
8. Right click inside that folder and sort by name
9. Double click to play inside Windows Picture and Fax Player.

All the files will play in the order you had arranged inside Organizer Album.

Sunday, June 20, 2010

People Recognition in Adobe Photoshop Elements 8.0

Today only I received a mail from Adobe with following image about people recognition.. Its a cool feature which is more helpful when you have lot of family/friends photographs in your catalog.. I will be writing about this feature on this blog soon....

People Recognition in Adobe Photoshop Elements 8.0 : Today only I received a mail from Adobe with following image about people recognition.. Its a cool feature which is more helpful when you have lot of family/friends photographs in your catalog.. I will be writing about this feature on this blog soon...

JUST TRY IT OUT...

Saturday, June 19, 2010

How to process camera-raw files of your latest SLR in Adobe Photoshop Elements 8.0?

"Could not complete your request because Photoshop does not recognize this type of file." ???
"The file is damaged or is a format that cannot be included."???

If you have Adobe Photoshop Elements 8.0 and bought a new camera like  Sony A450, you must be facing the problem of opening your cmera files in Organizer as well as Editor.

Do you know why this happens?

Actually most of the camera manufacturer have their own proprietary file format as we have NEF for Nikon, CR2/CRw for Canon, SR2 for Sony etc. These manufacturers add another complicity when NEF of D200 is different that NEF of D90. Now Adobe has a plugin called "Adobe Camera Raw" which supports these file formats and provide flexibility to process/edit them.

Different versions of Adobe Camera Raw Plug-Ins support different Camera Models. Like, files of Canon 7D are supported in ACR5.6

To Understand more about it, refer : http://www.adobe.com/products/photoshop/cameraraw.html

Above mentioned link talks about which cameras are supported in latest version.

So if you have Adobe Photoshop Elements 8.0 installed on your machine and trying to import/process files from latest cameras, you will not be able to do so.

For that you will have to update ACR Plug-In. Here are the steps you need to follow for this:

1. Close Elements Organizer and well as Editor.
2. Go to http://www.adobe.com/products/photoshop/cameraraw.html and download latest Windows Plug-In
3. It will have Camera Raw.8bi file
4. Go to "
C:\Program Files\Common Files\Adobe\Plug-Ins\Elements 8\File Formats\"
5. One 'Camera Raw.8bi' file will lying on this location.
6. Rename this file and copy the downloaded file into this location.
7. Relaunch Organizer and import the files of your latest SLR


It should work. If its still not working, send a comment here...

Sunday, June 13, 2010

Why Menu Items disapear in Organizer of Adobe Photoshop Elements : Hight DPI Problem

Sometimes Menu-Bar (File, Edit, Find, View, Window, Help) in Organizer disappear.

In this state ">>" is shown on title bar of Organizer and whole list of Menu items is shown on clicking this. It happens on some abnormal DPI values, I guess DPI greater than 96.

How to Resolve:

1. Go to Preferences and switch to System Fonts

2. If it doesn't work, change DPI value to 96 and problem should go away.

How to Change DPI:

Windows-XP:  
Start > Control Panel > Display OR
Start > Settings > Control Panel > Display >> Click Settings > Advanced.

Vista: Windows
 
Start > Control Panel > Personalization > Adjust Font Size (DPI).

Windows 7:  

Start > Control Panel > Display.
Then Click on 'Set Custom Text Size (DPI)' on the left side options.

Saturday, June 12, 2010

A Tech Note on Adobe Support site for basic troubeshooting of Sync related problems

Today I came through a very basic Tech-Note which is recently published on Adobe Support website. I don't find it very useful but still would want to share in case you want to know about it.
http://kb2.adobe.com/cps/847/cpsid_84759.html

 

Monday, May 10, 2010

What all you loose if want to move out of Organizer?

.

Today I was reading a discussion about Adobe Photoshop Elements, where a user wanted to move to Mac from win. Since Organizer is not there on Mac as of now, s/he needs to use other organizing application.

On Adobe Forums, there is a user "JOHN R ELLIS" who has amazing knowledge about different imaging products. On this thread he has shared detailed information about migration from ORGANIZER to other applications like:

- BRIDGE
- iPHOTO
- LIGHTROOM
- APERTURE
- PSE7 inside Virtual Machine

Check out this thread for more details:Ado

http://forums.adobe.com/message/2803183#2803183

Monday, May 3, 2010

Recently created video through Organizer Slideshow Feature


Thursday, April 29, 2010

Have you encountered : "Photoshop.com Services require an update to Photoshop Elements...."

.


As mentioned in last post, Adobe has released a new patch for PSE7 to improve overall performance of Photoshop.com Services and some Security Fixes. Now onwards if you don't apply the latest patch, Photoshop.com services will not be available and you will see a message following message on launching Welcome Screen:

"Photoshop.com Services require an update to Photoshop Elements. Please update Elements using the Adobe Update Menager () or by checking the Adobe website at  http://www.adobe.com"

There is an "Update" button in this message dialog which takes you to a web-page having a downloadable zip file with 7.0.3 patch. Just go on with this and your PSE should be back with all Photoshop.com Services.

NOTE: When you apply the patch through Patcher.exe make sure that Welcome Screen OR Organizer OR Editor is not launched at that point of time...

Write back in case you have some other information about this update...

A useful link : http://kb2.adobe.com/cps/841/cpsid_84110.html

. 

Wednesday, April 28, 2010

UPDATE 7.0.3 FOR Adobe Photoshop Elements 7.0/7.0.2: How to improve overall performance of Backup/Sync in Adobe Photoshop Elements 7.0

.

Recently Adobe has released a Patch for Adobe Photoshop Elements and Premiere Elements, which is more about improving performance of Photoshop.com services like Backup/Sync, Online Sharing, Contact-books etc.

Today I found a good source of information about patch 7.0.3 on Adobe site and wanted to share that. Check out http://kb2.adobe.com/cps/841/cpsid_84110.html to know more about applying this patch.

One important thing which I came to know after reading this article : PSE 7.0 and PSE 7.0.2 will not have Photoshop.com controls until you apply this patch...

.

Sunday, April 18, 2010

How can we sort our Photographs in Organizer?

Different Types of sorting in Adobe Photoshop Elements Organizer: 

Here are few parameters used for sorting your files in Photoshop Elements Organizer:

1. Oldest First
2. Newest First
3. File-Names
4. Custom Order

Now you might have doubt that I have not seen options for sorting in Custom Order or File-name. But Yes, you can sort your files according to File-Names as well as in custom order you want.

How can we sort files according to File-Names?

1. Launch Organizer
2. Go to Folder View from Display options in top bar of Organizer. (PSE8)
3. Select a particular folder where your files are are.
4. You will see all files sorted according to file-names. (This is applicable for one folder only)

How can we sort files in Custom Order?

For sorting some files in custom order , we need to create an Album. As we click on that album to see its content, sorting dropdown will be Album-Order selected by default. In this state, you drag and drop album files anywhere. Try and comment back in case it doesn't work for you...

How files are sorted which are shot on single day and sorting order selected in 'Newest First' ???

There is a preference in Organizer where we can specify sorting of such files in Imagewell:

1. Go to Edit>Preferences>General
2. Opt appropriate option for Display Options > Date(Newest First) 

        - Show oldest First in each day
        - Show Newest First in each day
 


Here are few parameters used for sorting your files in Photoshop Elements Organizer1. Oldest First2. Newest First3. File-Names4. Custom OrderNow you might have doubt that I have not seen options for sorting in Custom Order or File-name. But Yes, you can sort your files according to File-Names as well as in custom order you want.How can we sort files according to File-Names?1. Launch Organizer2. Go to Folder View from Display options in top bar of Organizer. (PSE8)3. Select a particular folder where your files are are.4. You will see all files sorted according to file-names. (This is applicable for one folder only)How can we sort files in Custom Order?For sorting some files in custom order , we need to create an Album. As we click on that album to see its content, sorting dropdown will be Album-Order selected by default. In this state, you drag and drop album files anywhere. Try and comment back in case it doesn't work for you...How files are sorted which are shot on single day and sorting order selected in Newest First ???There is a preference in Organizer where we can specify sorting of such files in Imagewell:1. Go to Edit>Preferences>General2. Opt appropriate option for Display Options > Date(Newest First)- Show oldest First in each day- Show Newest First in each day

 Write back in case you know any other good way of sorting files within Organizer...

Search This Blog