Tuesday, May 24, 2011

Thursday, May 19, 2011

What happens on deleting files which are marked for SYNC

Features like Backup/Sync are very important as more closer to your real assets and also very risky if you don't understand them better. This become more important to understand the behavior when we talk about asset deletions and movement of media files from one place to another.


Today we are going to discuss deletion workflows in Elements Organizer and Photoshop.com with their impact on other side. I assume that before reading this article, you are well aware of backup/sync workflows and terminologies involved. If not, just check out http://photoshopelementsbyadobe.blogspot.com/search/label/Sync


As you know that that Backup/Sync feature ensures that any change we do on one side, its propagated to other.. i.e. Adobe Photoshop Elements to www.photoshop.com and vice-versa.


So many times a question comes about special handling of deletion cases. And answer is yes !! There is some special handling of workflows involved in online deletion of a photograph or video etc...


So here is what exactly happens :


Behavior is governed by a preference "When I delete online file, ask me before deleting it from my computer"


Features like Backup/Sync are very important as more closer to your real assets and also very risky if you don't understand them better. This become more important to understand the behavior when we talk about asset deletions and movement of media files from one place to another.Today we are going to discuss deletion workflows in Elements Organizer and Photoshop.com with their impact on other side. I assume that before reading this article, you are well aware of backup/sync workflows and terminologies involved. If not, just check out http://photoshopelementsbyadobe.blogspot.com/search/label/SyncAs you know that that Backup/Sync feature ensures that any change we do on one side, its propagated to other.. i.e. Adobe Photoshop Elements to www.photoshop.com and vice-versa.So many times a question comes about special handling of deletion cases. And answer is yes !! There is some special handling of workflows involved in online deletion of a photograph or video etc...So here is what exactly happens :Behavior is governed by a preference


By default this option is ON, which means that you will always be asked before actually deleting your file from the catalog. In such scenarios you will see Sysc-Meter is warning stage and you have to launch Conflict Resolution dialog for making the final call of deleting files or keeping them in the catalog. 


Features like Backup/Sync are very important as more closer to your real assets and also very risky if you don't understand them better. This become more important to understand the behavior when we talk about asset deletions and movement of media files from one place to another.Today we are going to discuss deletion workflows in Elements Organizer and Photoshop.com with their impact on other side. I assume that before reading this article, you are well aware of backup/sync workflows and terminologies involved. If not, just check out http://photoshopelementsbyadobe.blogspot.com/search/label/SyncAs you know that that Backup/Sync feature ensures that any change we do on one side, its propagated to other.. i.e. Adobe Photoshop Elements to www.photoshop.com and vice-versa.So many times a question comes about special handling of deletion cases. And answer is yes !! There is some special handling of workflows involved in online deletion of a photograph or video etc...So here is what exactly happens :Behavior is governed by a preference


If we choose to delete the file, it means we are deleting it from catalog and file will still remain on hard-disk. To remove it completing from computer, check the option "Also delete from the Hard Disk".


If we don't choose to delete the file, behavior is different in PSE7/8 and PSE9.


PSE7/8 - File will not be deleted from catalog and will sync back to Photoshop.com in same album.


PSE9 - File will be removed from that album but remain in the catalog. This file will not sync back to Photoshop.com unless option for syncing loose media is ON.


Hope this article will be helpful in understanding the behavior of Asset deletion and its hadning by Backup/Sync in Adobe Photoshop Elements.


Please comment back, in case you have more queries around this workflow or anything else related to Photoshop Elements.

Wednesday, May 4, 2011

Facing problem with my Contact List in Adobe Photoshop Elements

Here we are talking about the some generic mantras to resolve problems related to Contact-Book in Adobe Photoshop Elements Organizer. If you are not able to add contact to Contact-List in Organizer OR Contact-Book is not loading properly OR Organizer hangs on loading Contact-Books etc... Try out following things and share your findings with us :-


Here are few things we would recommend to do for resolving this particular issue:

1. Close Organizer
2. Please open "%allusersprofile%\Application Data\Adobe\Elements Organizer\Organizer\Settings" in windows explorer.
3. Locate 'contacts.xml' on your machine and rename it.
4. Re-launch Organizer and now try the same workflow.

Hope you would be able to continue with all your workflows related to Contact-book now. If still you are facing some problem, please try following and share your findings -

1. Log-out from Organizer
2. Create new catalog
3. Log-in with another account and try same thing.

Please do let us know about the results!

Tuesday, May 3, 2011

How to use raw files from latest DSLRs in 7th or 8th or 9th version of Adobe Photoshop Elements.

As we know that Adobe has stopped sharing Adobe Camera Raw update for 7th and 8th version of Adobe Photoshop Elements. So if you have latest DSLR and using Adobe Photoshop Elements 7.0 or 8.0, your camera files will not be imported into Organizer and can't be edited in Editor.

So if you want to use your raw photographs in Adobe Photoshop Elements you have two options

1. Upgrade to latest version of Adobe Photoshop Elements

Adobe Photoshop Elements 9 (Win/Mac)

2. OR use DNG converter. Its a stand alone application which works on a folder of raw files. So download latest DNG converter from http://www.adobe.com/downloads/updates/ and use DNG files in your old Photoshop Elements version.

Please leave your comments in case you have some specific queries about it !!!

Sunday, May 1, 2011

Some common Mantras to resolve problems related to Sharing options in Adobe Photoshop Elements !!!

Sometimes options in share panel of Organizer starts behaving weirdly or become invisible completely. OR email workflows becomes more problematic.. The very first thing which one should try is -

1. Launch Organizer
2. Launch Preferences dialog from Edit Menu or press CTRL+K
3. Go to "Adobe Partner Services"
4. Click on "Clear Online Services data" and "Reset Accounts"
5. Relaunch Organizer and wait for few seconds
6. Now check if you see any change or not ?

Some common Mantras to resolve problems related to Sharing options in Adobe Photoshop Elements !!!Sometimes options in share panel of Organizer starts behaving weirdly or become invisible completely. OR email workflows becomes more problematic.. The very first thing which one should try is -1. Launch Organizer2. Launch Preferences dialog from Edit Menu or press CTRL+K3. Go to

In case, it didn't work for you - leave a comment and we should try to resolve the the problem ! This is one of the generic method which can be tried while seeing some problem with any of the sharing problem.

Not seeing Adobe Camera Raw Dialog on trying to open Raw files in Editor of Adobe Photoshop Elements

Today I thought of sharing a known problem in Adobe Photoshop Elements due to which Adobe Camera Raw dialog is not opened when we try to edit raw files shot from our DSLR cameras.

We have seen this problem many times on Adobe forums and it happens when resolution is less than 800 pixels. So we just need to increase the resolution to resolve this problem. In same scenario another problem occurs which is in Adobe Photo Downloader which is used for downloading and importing photographs form external devices, cameras or card-readers. In that case Adobe Photo Downloader can't be opened in Advanced Mode.

Search This Blog